Direct to content
Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland

History - Embassy of Finland, Belgrade : Embassy : History


Finska Ambasada
Bircaninova 29, 11001 Belgrad, Serbia
tel. +381-11-306 5400
English | Suomi | Svenska |  |  | Instagram


The turning points in the history of the Finnish Embassy in Belgrade

  • The Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenians declared independence under the Kingdom of Serbs 1 December 1918.    
  • The Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenians recognized Finland 27 July 1922.
  • The name of the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenians was changed to Yugoslavia in 1929 and in the same year Finland and the Kingdom of Yugoslavia established diplomatic relations.
  • Yugoslavia terminated diplomatic relations 24 August / 2 September 1941 to object Finland´s recognition of the independence of Croatia.
  • Diplomatic relations of Finland and the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia were re-established 1 April 1948.
  • Finland recognized the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia as one of the successor countries of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia 22 April 1996. 
  • After the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia ratified the constitution of the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro 4 February 2003, the name of the country was changed to the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro.
  • After Montenegro became independent 5 June 2006, Serbia declared itself as the successor state of Serbia and Montenegro.

The Embassy of Finland in Belgrade

Onni Talas, Envoy (Budapest)

Eduard Palin, Envoy (Bukarest)             1941
Ville Niskanen, Envoy      1948-1953
Niilo Orasmaa, Envoy1953-1956
Otso Wartiovaara, Envoy1956-1958
Ambassador  1958-1961
Olavi Raustila, Ambassador1961-1965
Taneli Kekkonen, Ambassador1965-1970

Olli Bergman, Ambassador

Risto Hyvärinen, Ambassador      1972-1975
Eeva-Kristiina Forsman, Ambassador        1975-1980
Matti Kahiluoto, Ambassador                    1981-1984
Heikki Talvitie, Ambassador        1984-1988
Jorma Inki, Ambassador              1988-1991
Mauno Castrén, Ambassador    1991-1992

Ilpo Manninen, Charge d'Affairs

Hannu Mäntyvaara, Ambassador               1998-2002
Anna-Maija Korpi, Ambassador2002-2007
Kari Veijalainen, Ambassador2007-2011
Pekka Orpana, Ambassador2011-2015
Pertti Ikonen, Ambassador2015-

Print this page

This document

Updated 11/23/2015

© Embassy of Finland, Belgrade | About this site | Contact information